Former Bucs Warren Sapp, John Lynch among Hall of Fame semifinalists

Published: November 30th, 2012
By Bucs Beat Feed

Warren Sapp and John Lynch, key cogs on one of the NFL’s best defenses and Super Bowl champions in Tampa Bay, moved a step closer today to a new career pinnacle by making the list of 27 modern-era semifinals for the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

The Hall of Fame selection committee narrowed a list of 127 preliminary nominees. Now, that group will be reduced to 15 modern-era candidates after the next round of balloting, to be announced in early January.

The final vote, selecting those chosen for enshrinement, is conducted Super Bowl weekend.

Sapp, a defensive tackle named to seven Pro Bowls, helped redefine the defensive tackle position with his pass-rushing, penetrating style of play. Including his seasons with the Oakland Raiders, Sapp finished his career with 96.5 sacks.

Lynch, a safety who went to nine Pro Bowls, starred for the Bucs and Broncos and recorded 26 career interceptions.

Tampa resident Eddie DeBartolo, former owner of the 49ers, also made the cut.

Here is the full list of semifinalists:

Larry Allen, G/T – 1994-2005 Dallas Cowboys, 2006-07 San Francisco 49ers

Morten Andersen, K – 1982-1994 New Orleans Saints, 1995-2000, 2006-07 Atlanta Falcons, 2001 New York Giants, 2002-03 Kansas City Chiefs, 2004 Minnesota Vikings

Steve Atwater, S – 1989-1998 Denver Broncos, 1999 New York Jets

Jerome Bettis, RB – 1993-95 Los Angeles/St. Louis Rams, 1996-2005 Pittsburgh Steelers

Tim Brown, WR/KR – 1988-2003 Los Angeles/Oakland Raiders, 2004 Tampa Bay Buccaneers

Cris Carter, WR – 1987-89 Philadelphia Eagles, 1990-2001 Minnesota Vikings, 2002 Miami Dolphins

Don Coryell, Coach – 1973-77 St. Louis Cardinals, 1978-1986 San Diego Chargers

Roger Craig, RB – 1983-1990 San Francisco 49ers, 1991 Los Angeles Raiders, 1992-93 Minnesota Vikings

Terrell Davis, RB – 1995-2001 Denver Broncos

Edward DeBartolo, Jr., Owner – 1977-2000 San Francisco 49ers

Kevin Greene, LB/DE – 1985-1992 Los Angeles Rams, 1993-95 Pittsburgh Steelers, 1996, 1998-99 Carolina Panthers, 1997 San Francisco 49ers

Charles Haley, DE/LB – 1986-1991, 1999 San Francisco 49ers, 1992-96 Dallas Cowboys

Joe Jacoby, T – 1981-1993 Washington Redskins

Albert Lewis, CB – 1983-1993 Kansas City Chiefs, 1994-98 Los Angeles/Oakland Raiders

John Lynch, FS – 1993-2003 Tampa Bay Buccaneers, 2004-07 Denver Broncos

Karl Mecklenburg, LB – 1983-1994 Denver Broncos

Art Modell, Owner – 1961-1995 Cleveland Browns, 1996-2011 Baltimore Ravens

Jonathan Ogden, T – 1996-2007 Baltimore Ravens

Bill Parcells, Coach – 1983-1990 New York Giants, 1993-96 New England Patriots, 1997-99 New York Jets, 2003-06 Dallas Cowboys

Andre Reed, WR – 1985-1999 Buffalo Bills, 2000 Washington Redskins

Warren Sapp, DT – 1995-2003 Tampa Bay Buccaneers, 2004-07 Oakland Raiders

Will Shields, G – 1993-2006 Kansas City Chiefs

Michael Strahan, DE – 1993-2007 New York Giants

Paul Tagliabue, Commissioner – 1989-2006 National Football League

Steve Tasker, ST/WR – 1985-86 Houston Oilers, 1986-1997 Buffalo Bills

Aeneas Williams, CB/S – 1991-2000 Phoenix/Arizona Cardinals, 2001-04 St. Louis Rams

George Young, Contributor – 1968-1974 Baltimore Colts, 1975-78 Miami Dolphins, 1979-1997 New York Giants, 1998-2001 National Football League